Posted in Entrepreneurship, Passion and Life

Do You Consider Yourself Successful? How Do You Define Your Success?

failure-and-successI have been battling an internal struggle for quite a few years now. Being scared to take entrepreneurial risks, yet wanting instant return on investment  in my entrepreneurial life. Then I began asking myself, “How are you measuring your success?”

For so long, my fear of failure was so prevalent in my work life that I would not take educated risks on things such as marketing and networking.  I began to closely watch the actions of other successful business people. Not just REALTORS, but small and large business owners as well.

I realized two things: First, I am successful. Second, I was measuring success with the wrong ruler.

Have you ever tried measuring a twelve foot wall with a one foot plastic ruler? Certainly you have not. Because you know the plastic one foot ruler is not the appropriate tool to measure the wall.

Success is truly what you make of it and how you view it. Personally, I believe success is measured by failure.

If your business does not experience some sort of failure, you will never know the level of success you have gained or how you even got there.

Sure, it is important to minimize the risk of unnecessary failure, but when failure is the inevitable outcome, consider it a positive thing. Consider it a chance to gain experience and walk away knowing the “what not to do’s”.

The simple fact is that success and failure are not opposites as we are taught in grade school. On the contrary, failure should be considered part of success. As a tool used to measure success.

 

 

Author:

Hi, Thank you for visiting my blog! I love my community and the people in it. Enjoy posts about community happenings, homes and gardens, staging, recipes ands so much more! This blog was created to serve my past, current and future clients along with friends and other businesses who may walk away with a laugh, a tip or a trick to improve their lives. I am passionate about connecting with people and can't wait to connect with you!

Leave a Reply

